Welcoming the Stranger

brigid

Today, the western Church celebrates the feast of St. Brigid (with many eastern Christians celebrating on Feb. 14). This remarkable woman is one of Ireland’s patron saints (along with Saint Patrick). She is remember as an Irish Christian nun, abbess, and founder of several monasteries. St. Brigid is also revered for her great compassion toward the poor and hospitality for all. There is a beautiful poem attributed to her where she describes her desire for a heavenly community (here is one version of it): 

I long for a great lake of ale

I long for the meats of belief and pure piety 

I long for the flails of penance at my house 

I long for them to have barrels full of peace 

I long to give away jars full of love 

I long for them to have cellars full of mercy

I long for cheerfulness to be in their drinking 

I long for Jesus too to be there among them.

On this day, St. Brigid reminds all Christians that we are charged with the sacred task of hospitality. In Matthew 25, Jesus describes the actions a his true followers:

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me…Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.” 

The Church is called to be the earthly expression of St. Brigid’s vision for heavenly community – a community that God is transforming into the perfect bride of Christ. We are the community that God uses to bring about His Kingdom…to show compassion for the poor, love for the enemy, welcome to the stranger.  The Gaelic song called “The Rune of Hospitality” echoes Christ’s words in Matthew so well…

“I saw a stranger yestreen; I put food in the eating place, drink in the drinking place, music in the listening place, and in the name of the Triune. He blessed myself and my house, my cattle and my dear ones, and the lark said in her song often, often, often, goes the Christ in the stranger’s guise, often, often, often, goes the Christ in the stranger’s guise.”
(From the Gaelic: The Rune of Hospitality)

Leave a comment